Schaafsma earns team MVP, Komets win regular season finale


It’s about time for another Komets-Walleye series. 

Fort Wayne earns a victory in their final regular season game of the year over Wheeling, 5-2. Jake Kamrass netted a hat-trick for the Komets. 

Game 1 of their opening round series with Toledo will take place on Friday night. 


The Komets announced their End-of-Season Player Awards Sunday following the regular season home finale against the Wheeling Nailers at the Memorial Coliseum.  The awards were presented as follows:

• Bud Gallmeier Memorial Trophy/Community Service Award, for community service and dedication to the game of hockey in memory of long-time Komet beat writer Bud Gallmeier.  
Winner:  Jamie Schaafsma

• The Wiegmann Family “True Komet” Award, exemplifying team spirit and a positive attitude on and off the ice.
Winner:  Cody Sol and Jamie Schaafsma

• The Komets Most Improved Player Award for the player showing the most improvement from the beginning of the season to the end and has been on the Komet roster since the start of the season. 
Winner:  Anthony Petruzzelli

• The Mr. Hustle Award, in honor of the memory of Cliff and Jean Fell, Jim and William Fell, and Pat Curtis, long-time Komet fans.  The award considers a player’s personal statistics (goals, assists and on-ice hits at home) and overall up-tempo style of game.  
Winner:  Anthony Petruzzelli

• The Unsung Hero Award, the Komets’ 5/30 award in tribute to Komet Hall-of-Famers Robbie Irons and the late Terry Pembroke, given to the player whose hard work, dedication to his teammates and love of the game is in the true spirit of Komet legends Robbie Irons and Terry Pembroke.  
Winner:  Jamie Schaafsma

• The NOB Brick Award, for the Stonewall Defensive Forward of the season.  
Winner:  Jamie Schaafsma

• The Komet Defenseman of the Year Award for his overall play at both ends of the ice.  
Winner:  Ryan Lowney

• The Komet Rookie of the Year Award.  
Winner:  Jake Kamrass

• The Komet Most Valuable Player Award, known as the Foss Folk Memorial Trophy sponsored by the Folk family and voted on by the Komet players themselves.  
Winner:  Jamie Schaafsma

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss