North Side’s Brooks, DeKalb’s Brown tabbed second team All-State by A.P.

Leigha Brown

Romeo Langford’s trophy room is already filling up.
   And he’s just getting started.
   The New Albany senior received the most votes on this year’s Associated Press all-state boys’ basketball team. It’s the third straight year he finished with the highest total from a panel of sports writers, sports broadcasters and coaches.
   Carmel’s Amy Dilk took top honors on the girls’ team.
   Both teams were announced Wednesday.
   “He (Langford) just kind of blends in, yet when he walks onto a basketball court,” New Albany coach Jim Shannon said. “It’s amazing how you can tell that something different has just entered the room when it comes to his skill on the floor. He’s a household name throughout this state. I don’t think there’s any question about that.”
   Langford led New Albany to a 25-2 mark while averaging 35.5 points, 9.9 rebounds, 3.7 assists, 3.0 steals and 1.9 blocks and was recently named to the McDonald’s All-American team.
   With Langford, New Albany went 100-10, won four sectional titles, two regional championships and the 2016 state title in Class 4A. He’s fourth all-time on Indiana’s career scoring list (3,002 points) and is now attending the Nike Hoop Summit in Portland, Oregon.
   When he returns Friday, the questions about where he will play undoubtedly will continue.
   Langford’s list is down to Indiana, Vanderbilt and Kansas.
   “It’s still up in the air,” he said. “I can see myself going to college, doing well, hopefully being a one-and-done, and then make it to the NBA and be a star in the NBA, and go down as one of the greats.”
   Joining Langford on the first team is Robert Phinisee of McCutcheon, who made the first team for the second straight year, Aaron Henry of Ben Davis and Eric Hunter of Tindley and Mekhi Lairy of Evansville Bosse, who were third-team selections in 2016.
   Phinisee has decided to play at Indiana. Hunter will play at Purdue, Henry is headed to Michigan State and Lairy is going to Miami (Ohio).
   The second team consists of Damezi Anderson of South Bend Riley, another Indiana recruit, Hayden Langkabel of Morristown and Trayce Jackson-Davis of Center Grove, Keion Brooks of Fort Wayne North, and Mason Gillis of New Castle made up the second team. Anderson will play at Indiana next season.
   Isaiah Thompson of Zionsville, a Purdue recruit, Kevin Easley of Lawrence North, Chance Coyle of Bloomington South, Warren Central’s David Bell and Langford’s high school teammate, Sean East, comprise the third team.
   Bell’s buzzer-beating shot gave Warren Central a 64-62 victory over New Albany in the semi state title game.
   “I’m over that,” Langford said. “I’m focused on bigger and better things.”
   That’s also the case for Dilk, a third-team choice last year. This time, she’s one of the front-runners for Indiana’s Miss Basketball Award — and the leading vote-getter on the girls’ team.
   She led Carmel to its third straight sectional championship but the Greyhounds’ state title hopes were dashed with a 54-49 loss to Zionsville in the regionals and will play at Michigan next season.
   “I don’t think I’ll ever forget that feeling after the game, knowing it’s my last chance to play with my high school team and my last high school game,” Dilk said. ” I always wish I could go back and play that game again. But I guess you just have to move on and look forward to the future.”
   Dilk averaged 17.8 points, 6.7 assists, 5.6 rebounds and 3.8 steals as a senior and will play with another first-teamer, Emily Kiser of Noblesville, at Michigan this fall.
   Angel Baker of Pike, Kayana Traylor of Martinsville Katlyn Gilbert of Heritage Christian round out the first team. Traylor is headed to Purdue and Gilbert will play for national champion Notre Dame.
   The second team consists of Mackenzie Blazek of Whiteland, Leigha Brown of DeKalb, Cassidy Hardin of Center Grove, Shaila Beeler of Warren Central and Maddie Nolan of Zionsville.
   Jenasae Bishop of East Chicago Central, Nia Clark of Ben Davis, Rikki Harris of Indianapolis North Central, Jorie Allen of Bedford North Lawrence and Kendall Bostic of Northwestern made the third team.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss