Komets forward Justin Hodgman tagged ECHL All-Star


The ECHL announced Monday that Komets forward Justin Hodgman has been selected to the 2019 CCM/ECHL All-Star Classic roster.

Hodgman, 30, is in his second consecutive season with the Komets and fifth stint. The center helped the Komets to IHL Turner Cup championships as a rookie in 2008 and 2009 while a member of the OHL’s Erie Otters and in 2010 after appearing in 42 AHL games with Toronto and 33 ECHL games with Toledo.


After logging 42 AHL games with Toronto in 2010-11 the Brampton, Ontario native made his European debut in Finland in 2011.  In 2012 Hodgman began a stretch of 100 games in the Russian KHL over two seasons before returning to the States for five NHL games with Arizona and 62 AHL games with Portland during 2014-15.  The skater added 15 AHL games with Chicago in 2015-16 along with a return to Europe for stints in the Swedish HL and the Czech elite league.


Hodgman returned to Fort Wayne last season and skated 30 games scoring nine goals and 25 points.  During 20018-19 he has amassed a team leading 27 assists, 39 points and +9 after 31 games.

The 2019 CCM/ECHL All-Star Classic with be hosted by the Toledo Walleye Monday, Jan. 21 at 7pm ET at the Huntington Center.  The game will air live exclusively on the NHL Network.


For the second consecutive year, the CCM/ECHL All-Star Classic will feature a 3-on-3 tournament with four teams competing for the top spot. New in 2019, the host team will make up two of the four teams and face-off against the other two teams made up of All-Star players from the Eastern and Western Conference. These four teams will compete in a 3-on-3 tournament with rally scoring in order to crown a winner. The 2019 CCM/ECHL All-Star Skills Competition will take place in between rounds of the tournament, highlighting the talents of the ECHL Players, and showcasing the future of hockey as they develop in the League.


The rosters for the Eastern Conference and Western Conference All-Stars were determined in a vote of coaches, team captains, media relations directors, broadcasters and members of the media. 

Western Conference All-Stars

G – Tomas Sholl, Idaho Steelheads

D – Alex Breton, Allen Americans

D – Neil Manning, Indy Fuel

D – Kevin Spinozzi, Wheeling Nailers
F – Justin Hodgman, Fort Wayne Komets

F – Vasili Glotov, Cincinnati Cyclones

F – Justin Taylor, Kalamazoo Wings

F – Jared VanWormer, Kansas City Mavericks

F – Andrew Radjenovic, Rapid City Rush

F – Steven Iacobellis, Wichita Thunder



G – Evan Fitzpatrick, Tulsa Oilers

F – Caleb Herbert, Utah Grizzlies


Eastern Conference All-Stars

G – Mitch Gillam, Worcester Railers

D – Dajon Mingo, Jacksonville Icemen

D – Sean Day, Maine Mariners

D – David Kolomatis, Manchester Monarchs

F – Mike Szmatula, Adirondack Thunder

F – David Pacan, Brampton Beast

F – Joe Cox, Florida Everblades

F – Johno May, Greenville Swamp Rabbits

F – Giorgio Estephan, Newfoundland Growlers

F – Jonathan Charbonneau, South Carolina Stingrays



F – Brett McKenzie, Atlanta Gladiators

D – Jalen Smereck, Norfolk Admirals

F – Brent Pedersen, Orlando Solar Bears

F – Steven Swavely, Reading Royals


The week ahead— The Komets will skate another three-in-three this weekend starting at Indy Friday night at 7:35.  Saturday the Komets open a weekend home double-header on Sweetwater Ice at the Memorial Coliseum.  The Utah Grizzlies are in town Saturday at 7:30pm and the Kalamazoo Wings visit for a 5pm Sunday faceoff.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss