WANE-TV wins 4 SPJ top awards

Local News
SPJ Awards 2018

The Society for Professional Journalists awarded WANE-TV with top honors in four different categories Friday night. 

Terra Brantley came in first for Coverage of Minority Issues with her story “Freedom Schools.”

Brett Thomas and photographer Ross Kinsey won Best Feature Story for “Hall of Fame Life.”

Alyssa Ivanson’s “Airport Insecurity” brought home first place for Best Investigative Reporting. 

The WANE-TV staff also won first place for breaking news coverage of widespread flooding that hit the area in May 2017.

WANE-TV placed in the top three for five other awards as well.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss