Most state public schools accept Governor’s free metal detectors

Local News
Indiana Governor Eric Holcomb

Indiana Lt. Gov. Eric Holcomb discusses the state’s fiscal condition following the close of Fiscal Year at the Statehouse in Indianapolis, Monday, July 25, 2016. Holcomb is Gov. Mike Pence’s pick to take his place as the Republican candidate for governor following his withdrawal to become Donald Trump’s vice presidential running mate. The Republican state […]

Nearly 70 percent of Indiana’s public schools have signed up for Gov. Eric Holcomb’s offer for free handheld metal detectors. 

The new program will make one handheld metal detector device available for every 250 students in traditional public, charter and accredited non-public schools by request. The Indiana Department of Administration will place the first orders for the metal detector devices on July 19 for delivery by mid-August. Orders placed after that date will be fulfilled later in the fall.

Metropolitan School District of Wabash Superintendent Mike Keaffaber ordered eight for his students.

“This will be a case by case basis,” he said. “Just like when we have any type of situation where we have some reasonable suspicion that something is going to occur or someone has something that they’re not supposed to have. It would be a case by case basis.” 

Here is a list of Northeast Indiana schools that have signed up and how many metal detectors they have requested:

Adams Central Community School District (Monroe): 4 

Blackford County Schools (Hartford City): 6

Bluffton-Harrison Metropolitan School District (Bluffton): 4

Central Lutheran School (New Haven): 2

Central Noble Community Schools (Albion): 4

Dekalb County Central Schools = K12 Indiana (Waterloo): 12

East Allen County Schools (New Haven): 38

East Noble School Corporation 6060 (Kendallville): 15

Garrett-Keyser-Butler CSD (Garrett): 7

Jay School Corporation (Dunkirk): 12

Lakeland School Corporation (LaGrange): 8

Lakewood Park Christian School (Auburn): 2

Mississinewa Community Schools (Gas City): 10

MSD of Steuben County (Angola): 11

MSD of Wabash County (Wabash): 8

North Adams Community Schools (Decatur): 7

Smith Academy for Excellence (Fort Wayne): 1

Smith-Green Community Schools (Churubusco): 4

South Adams/0035 (Berne): 4

Southwest Allen County Schools (Fort Wayne): N/A

West Noble (Ligonier): 9

Whitley County Consolidated Schools (Columbia City): 13

Wyneken Memorial Lutheran School (Decatur): 1

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss