Mayor Tom Henry wins Democratic Primary, seeks fourth term

Local News
Henry wins Democratic primary

Fort Wayne Mayor Tom Henry will be representing the Democratic party for mayor in November. 

Henry won Tuesday’s primary with 86% of the vote, beating fellow Democrats Gina Burgess and Tommy Schrader. 

He will face Republican Tim Smith in November after he defeated City Councilman John Crawford in the Republican primary on Tuesday. 

Henry wants to “keep the momentum going.” He also said his experience in municipal government puts him in a better place for November than Tim Smith, who has not held a local government office. 

“If you have to go through a significant learning curve, which he (Smith) would have to do, I’m afraid we would lose valuable time in the City of Fort Wayne,” said Henry. “That’s time that we would never get back. Time that would possibly cause us to lose the momentum we have now.” 

Henry called primary day “exciting,” saying he is looking forward to a “progressive, aggressive, positive” race against Smith. 

Other Allen County Democratic primary results:

Michelle Chambers, Glynn Hines and Steve Corona won the 5-way Democratic primary for three at-large City Council seats.

John Henry won the Fort Wayne City Council District 3 primary over Pal Galindo, and Patti Hays won the District 4 primary over Jorge Fernandez. Sharon Tucker won the District 6 primary with nearly 90 percent of the vote.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss