Stores across Indiana would face tougher penalties for selling tobacco products to anyone under 21 under a bill endorsed by the Indiana House.
The additional penalties are part of a bill increasing Indiana’s minimum age for smoking and vaping from 18 to 21 to conform with a new federal law.
The proposal would boost the fine against a retailer for a first violation from a $200 maximum to a minimum of $500. A third violation within three years would carry a minimum $1,000 fine and a three-year loss of the store’s tobacco sales certificate.
House members voted 84-14 Tuesday for the bill. The Senate”s considering its own bill.
Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.
- B. Smith, model turned lifestyle guru, dead at 70
- Newman confirms he suffered head injury in Daytona 500 crash
- Henrico toddler walks again after being shot in the head during drive-by shooting: ‘It’s a miracle’
- Rep. LaHood slams Blagojevich’s extortion, defends Trump’s Ukraine call
- One hurt in rollover crash near St. Joseph Hospital