FORT WAYNE, Ind. (WANE) – Dr. Karl W. Einolf has been selected by the Indiana Tech Board of Trustees as the university’s next president.

The university made the announcement Monday that Dr. Einolf will become the ninth president of the school’s 86-year history. He will succeed Dr. Arthur Snyder, who is retiring on June 30, 2017. Einolf will begin his duties as president on July 1, 2017, according to a press release from Indiana Tech.

According to chair of Indiana Tech Board of Trustees, Janet Chrzan, the search process involved over 70 applicants for the position.

Dr. Einolf comes to Indiana Tech from Mount St. Mary’s University in Emmitsburg, Maryland, where he currently serves as dean of the Richard J. Bolte, Sr. School of Business. During his tenure at Mount St. Mary’s, Dr. Einolf also served as acting president of the university from February to June 2016, along with a variety of other positions, according to the press release.