Dwenger wins state title after 4 OTs

High School Sports

It took four overtimes but it was worth the wait as the Bishop Dwenger Saints edged Evansville Central 16-10 in the 4A state title game Friday night at Lucas Oil Stadium.

The game went into overtime tied 0-0, making it the first game in state championship history to have a scoreless regulation.

It marks the fifth state title in Dwenger history, as they had won it all in 1983, ’90. ’91, and 2015. This is head coach Jason Garrett’s first season as Dwenger’s head coach.

In the first overtime Bishop Dwenger missed a 23 yard field goal, opening the door for Evansville Central. But the Saints would force a miss from EC to keep the game scoreless.

In OT number two both teams would connect on field goals, including a 23-yarder from Dwenger’s Michael Garrett, to knot the game at 3-3.

The game’s first touchdown came in the third overtime when T.J. Tippmann found paydirt from one yard out to give the Saints a 10-3 lead. Brennon Harper would respond with a TD pass to Malcolm DePriest with the ensuing PAT knotting the game at 10-10.

In OT number four Evansville Central had the ball first and was intercepted by Dwenger linebacker Charlie Howe. On BD’s possession T.J. Tippmann would score from 9 yards out to set the final and win the state title for the Saints.

Dwenger finishes the season 14-1 overall.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss