First-ever ‘Jeopardy!” team contest draws top champions

Alex Trebek, Austin Rogers_289353

CORRECTS LAST NAME TO TREBEK INSTEAD OF TREBEC This image released by Jeopardy Productions, Inc. shows “Jeopardy!” host Alex Trebek, left, and contestant Austin Rogers, whose 12-game winning streak came to an end on Thursday’s broadcast. Rogers finished his run in fifth place on the all-time regular-season (non-tournament), winning $411,000. (Carol Kaelson/Jeopardy Productions, Inc. via […]

The first-ever “Jeopardy!” team tournament is bringing together 18 of the game’s top players.

There’s Brad Rutter, whose overall “Jeopardy!” haul, $4.3 million, is the most won on any game show.

Ken Jennings is a 74-game winner and top moneymaker in non-tournament “Jeopardy!” competition, with $2.5 million, and Buzzy Cohen is the show’s reigning Tournament of Champions winner.

They’re among the six captains who will join their teams in competing for a top $1 million prize on the syndicated show.

The other three captains are Julia Collins, Colby Burnett and Austin Rogers.

The contest spans 10 episodes that begin airing Wednesday and conclude March 5.

“Jeopardy!” executive producer Harry Friedman said the contestants were chosen primarily on the basis of their previous success.

“Jeopardy!” airs weeknights on WANE 15 at 7:30 p.m.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss