Tranquill named quarterfinalist for Lott Award

College Sports

Carroll graduate and Notre Dame senior Drue Tranquill has been named one of twenty quarterfinalists for the Lott IMPACT Trophy given to college football’s best defensive player at the end of the season.

Tranquill leads ND with 38 solo tackles. His tally of 46 total tackles in second on the team, and he ranks third with 6 tackles for loss.

Voting for the winner and finalists will take place in November and the 15th annual awards banquet will be held Dec. 9 at the Pacific Club in Newport Beach.

The Quarter-Finalists:
Josh Allen, LB, Kentucky
Zach Allen, DL, Boston College
Ben Burr-Kirven, LB, Washington
Te’von Coney, LB, Notre Dame
Deshaun Davis, LB, Auburn
Joe Dineen Jr., LB, Kansas
Jordan Fuller, S, Ohio State
Chase Hansen, LB, Utah
Ben Humphreys, LB, Duke
Jordan Kunaszyk, LB, Cal
Nate Landman, LB, Colorado
Bobby Okereke, LB, Stanford
Ed Oliver, DE, Houston
Adarius Pickett, S, UCLA
Taylor Rapp, S, Washington
Colin Schooler, LB, Arizona
Cameron Smith, LB, USC
Drue Tranquill, LB, Notre Dame
Devin White, LB, LSU
Christian Wilkins, DL, Clemson

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy:
2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011 – Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA
2015 – Carl Nassib, Penn State
2016 – Jabrill Peppers, Michigan
2017 – Josey Jewell, Iowa

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss