PFW’s Konchar named Summit League Player of the Week

College Sports

Purdue Fort Wayne senior John Konchar collected his third #SummitMBB Player of the Week award this season. League officials made the announcement Monday after Konchar stuffed the stat sheet in a pair of Mastodon victories last week to move the team to 7-3 in league play.

Konchar averaged 23.5 ppg, 7.5 rpg, 6.0 apg and 3.0 spg in the two wins, starting the week with a double-double in a 102-71 victory over South Dakota Wednesday. Konchar scored 21 points and pulled down 10 rebounds while adding five assists on 9-of-12 shooting from the floor. 

In Purdue Fort Wayne’s 82-81 win at Oral Roberts Saturday, Konchar added 26 points, five rebounds, seven assists and five steals. His seventh assist set up Matt Holba’s game-winning 3-pointer with four seconds remaining and he also went 8-for-8 from the free throw line.


He finished the week shooting 69.2 percent from the floor and 90.1 percent from the foul line.


Men’s Basketball Player of the Week

John Konchar

Sr. | Guard | West Chicago, Ill.

• This is the eighth weekly accolade of Konchar’s career, which moves him into fifth place all-time in The Summit League record books

• The double-double vs. the Coyotes was his eighth of the season, which is second most in the league

• Leads the league in assists (5.2/g) and steals (1.8/g) in overall games and in league games (5.8 apg and 2.4 spg)


2018-19 Men’s Basketball Players of the Week

November 12
Mike Daum, South Dakota State
November 19
Brandon Gilbeck, Western Illinois
November 26
Mike Daum, South Dakota State
Zach Jackson, Omaha
December 3
Mike Daum, South Dakota State
December 10
Mike Daum, South Dakota State
December 17
Mitch Hahn, Omaha
Cody Kelley, South Dakota
December 23
Mike Daum, South Dakota State
John Konchar, Purdue Fort Wayne
December 31
John Konchar, Purdue Fort Wayne
January 7
Emmanuel Nzekwesi, Oral Roberts
January 14
Stanley Umude, South Dakota
January 21
Mike Daum, South Dakota State
January 28
Mike Daum, South Dakota State

Others Nominated:Sam Kearns, Oral Roberts; Stanley Umude, South Dakota; Zach Jackson, Omaha; David Nzekwesi, Denver; Cortez Seales, North Dakota; Skyler Flatten, South Dakota State; Deng Geu, North Dakota State; C.J. Duff, Western Illinois

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss