Indiana Tech women’s basketball rakes in WHAC awards

College Sports

The Indiana Tech women’s basketball team was well-represented on the awards list as the Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference (WHAC) released its regular season honors Wednesday.


Head coach Jessie Biggs was named the WHAC Coach of the Year for the third straight season while the Warriors entire starting lineup earned All-Conference honors. Senior forward Kendall Knapke and junior forward DeAnn Kauffman both garnered a spot on the All-WHAC First-Team while senior guard Bella Lozano-Dobbs, junior guard Rachel Bell and sophomore guard Alexis Hill, all earned a spot on the Second-Team.


Knapke led the Warriors in points (15.5 ppg), rebounds (7.1 rpg) and minutes (33.9 mpg) while shooting 44.5% from the field, 41.6% from three-point range and 89.2% from the free throw line. The Hoagland, Indiana native started all 30 games for Tech and set the program record for most games (130) and starts (130) in a career. It is her third time being named to the All-WHAC Teams, and her first time appearing on the First-Team.


Kauffman averaged 13.4 points, 3.8 rebounds, 2.4 assists and 1.3 steals per game while shooting 44.5% from the floor to garner her first mention on the All-WHAC Team. She ranks eight in the conference in scoring. Lozano-Dobbs led the team in steals (1.5) and added 7.4 points, 3.8 rebounds and 3.5 assists per game to earn her first All-Conference honor. The Iowa City, Iowa native was also named to the WHAC All-Defensive Team.


Hill enjoyed a breakout season with the Warriors in which she averaged 12.5 points, 6.2 rebounds, 2.4 assists and 1.5 steals per game while shooting 49.5% from the field to earn her first nod to the All-Conference Team. Bell filled out the stat sheet every night by averaging 7.8 points, 5.0 rebounds, 4.5 assists and 1.4 steals per night while also earning her first spot on the All-Conference Team.


Kyra Whitaker was named to the All-Freshman Team after averaging 4.3 points, 1.5 rebounds and 1.5 assists while shooting 37.2% in 24 games.


The conference also released its All-Academic and Champions of Character Teams, with the Warriors leading the way with eight student-athletes: Bell, Kauffman, Knapke, Lozano-Dobbs, Mikaela Lyons, Kayla Mallett, Jenna Szostak and Emily Wieland, making the list, the most of any team in the WHAC. Knapke was chosen as the Tech’s nominee for the Champions of Character Team.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

Don't Miss